Happy New Year!

It has always been my personal motto that you never have to wait for a new day, let alone a new year, to make a fresh start or new beginning.  Still, I have to admit, I do get excited and little bit caught up in the hype of New Year’s Eve.  Not so much that I venture out and about to celebrate, but I do at least attempt to stay up and watch the ball drop.

In years past, we would go out to dinner with family or friends, but for the past several years, including tonight, we’ve spent the evening cozying up in front of the fire, ordering in, watching a movie or TV, and just enjoying each other’s company.

And hers, of course. :-)

And hers, of course. 🙂

There is no place I’d rather be.  I’ve found that, the older I get, the simpler I prefer things to be. Last year, we had a Breaking Bad fest, watching one DVD after another to catch up on the series.  Quite the happening bunch, I know.  We must have had the right idea, because this year, AMC has been following our lead with their own. 😉

As I look back on 2013, I’m content with the strides I’ve taken in all aspects of my life: running, career, lifestyle, education, and most importantly, taking the time to stop and smell the roses.  2013 certainly wasn’t without it’s challenges, especially where my career is concerned, but I’ve had a lot of time to step back, reevaluate, and realize what’s important.  I was reminded that I needed to take my own advice, or as I often say, eat my own words.

Life is 10% of what happens to us and 90% of how we respond to it.  I’ve found that by embracing life’s rough patches, it made me truly appreciate all the greatness I have in my life.  As I’ve said here, while we can’t always control what comes our way, we can control what we take away from the experience.  If you don’t like something, change it.  If you can’t change it, then change how you look at it.  A positive attitude can go a long way.

I thank God for all of “my cup runneth over” moments in 2013, and have high hopes for making even more in 2014.  I foresee a lot of change in the year to come, which will undoubtedly come with high and low points, and I look forward to tackling those challenges head on.

I found this awesome photo on an inspirational Facebook page “Sun Gazing,” and it sums up what I’m always saying both here and in life.  You are the author of your own life. Make it count.

994086_290120504476119_1135152181_nBring on 2014!

All the best to you, today, tomorrow, and every day.

Happy New Year! 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

