Fall Love

Every year, I look forward to fall with childlike excitement.  The beautiful spectrum of color, leaves turning to their bright orange, red, and yellow alter egos.  The smell of burning wood and leaves, and crisp, cool air mark the beginning of sweater and hoodie weather.  I can leave the windows open for a soothing, cool breeze to flow through, and fall asleep to the sound of the wind whistling and blowing.

We often go for drives just to take in the breathtaking beauty that surrounds us, windows down for the full experience.

Even on rainy fall days, I love to sit and look out the window, marveling at how the raindrops make everything darker and more vibrant.  On the sunny days, there is nothing better than to sit outside and breathe in the color canvas, especially when the sunlight streams through the trees, offering a highlighted work of art.

Wow…

Then, the leaves start to fall, sharing their color with the ground and leaving a trail for us to run or trudge through.  There’s something about the sound of crunchy leaves under my feet that makes me giddy, and I take every opportunity to step on the crunchiest ones I can find just so I can hear the sound.  It leaves me feeling triumphant, and as this is one of Craig’s and my favorite pasttimes, we often compete for the best ones.  Even more so, we laugh at each other when one of us dives onto a deceivingly crunchy-looking leaf that turns out to be a softy.  Yes, we are still children at heart.  Which reminds me, it’s been awhile since we’ve made a pile of leaves to jump into.  😉

Oooooh…

Best of all, this is my favorite weather to…yes, you guessed it…run.  I am always excited to bust out my capris and long-sleeved running tops.  The pesky, relentless bugs are finally going into hiding, and it’s easier to breathe.  I can get away with hydrating less without feeling parched, and sweat is almost nonexistent.  I always attribute credit to this season being one of the reasons I fell in love with running in the first place, as I shared here.  Of course, My Pumpkin certainly drove that home, too.

Then there is the fall decor that is everywhere you look.  Pumpkins, black cats, cornstalks, straw, scarecrows, brightly-colored wreaths, orange lights, and of course, Halloween costumes and decorations.  Out come the pumpkin spiced coffees and lattes, pumpkin breads, pies, muffins, and cookies.  Apple pie, crisp, and muffins.  The scent of cinnamon and cardamom.  The excitement of finding Pumpkin Spice creamer in the refrigerator section at the store, and of course, it’s BFF shown below.

Yes…I drink my coffee with a straw. In Christmas mugs. All year round.

I’m an even bigger fan of tea, be it black, green, spiced, or chai (which is just like having pumpkin pie in a cup).  I always add more milk than tea so it’s creamier and not as sweet.

Fall is heaven on earth, and my absolute favorite time of year.  If only it lasted longer than it does.  Oh, the simple things…

This entry was posted in Life Loves and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

