Why I Run

I get this question from so many, and just as it’s difficult for them to understand why I run, I don’t get why anyone wouldn’t if they are physically able to.

I run for the simple reasons any runner does.  I love it.  I run because of the way it makes me feel.  Strong.  Powerful.  Energetic.  Alive.  Free.  Healthy.  Happy.  I run because it helps me stay fit and in shape.  I run because I want to be faster.  Be stronger.  Go farther.  The sense of accomplishment I feel when overcoming a challenge I’ve set for myself is priceless.

I run because it is my outlet and personal form of therapy, and the best way I’ve found to clear my head of the frustrations life throws my way.  I run to find myself when feeling lost, and sometimes, when I need an escape from reality, I lose myself there.  I run because it instantly puts me in a good mood when I’m just not (ladies, you especially know how that is).  I run because I never regret it when I’m done.  I run because I can.  As one of my favorite running quotes says, “There will be a day when I can no longer run.  Today is not that day.”

Running is a part of who I am, but it isn’t ALL that I am.  It has helped me become a better person because of all it does for me.  I’m so glad my mom pushed, pressured, and tormented me into sticking with it.  If you haven’t already, that story can be found here.  My name is Christina, and I am in love with running.  🙂

This entry was posted in Running and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why I Run

  1. ZekeRunning says:

    I just found your blog and I love it! Your running, writing and story are all amazing. I am a new runner and am just learning how much I love to run.

    Like

  2. Angela P. :-) says:

    Yay, Christina!!!! Just wanted to let you know I found your blog, and will definitely be reading!!! Thanks for letting me know about it!! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

